Ruger Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m hoping someone here might have some info regarding older tang safety M77’s.

I’m trying to learn about the variations between M77’s from this era. I’d like to have a better understanding of the specific models that existed, such as M77 RS (with sights) and other model variations. One of the primary pieces of information I’m looking for, is if any of these tang safety versions were manufactured without sights, and chambered in .35 Whelen.

Any bits and pieces of information are of use to me. Likewise, if someone knows of an alternate place where I might find some answers …perhaps some suggested reading that would make a good reference?

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,898 Posts
Hi Don, I'll take a stab at trying to help. I'm no expert but I did check the book "Ruger & His Guns" by R. L. Wilson and the M77 is covered in limited detail. Introduced in 1968 with serial prefixes through 1992. Total made: over 1,087,000. This book does not list the .35 Whelen as a caliber offered nor does .35 Whelen appear in the table of markings for the M77. That being said, it seems Ruger often did unusal or non-standard things by request or for some reason so there's still the possibility of the existence of an M77 in .35 Whelen, just not as likely as other short and long action calibers.

77R: Standard rifle, no sights, receiver machined for Ruger scope rings, both action lengths.

77RS: With iron sights and receiver machined for Ruger scope rings, both action lengths, including .458 inchester Magnum.

77RSC: Primarily .458 Winchester Magnum and a few .416 Taylor, Magnum Action, Ruger scope rings, 24" heavy barrel. Circassian walnut, etc. (lengthy description follows...)

77RSI: International model, with Mannlicher style stock; 18 1/2" barrel, with scope rings and iron sights.

77S: With iron sights, scope rings not provided.