Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took my GP100 to the range today, first time in many weeks I've had time to do so.

Just for fun, and 'cause I saw the guy next to me doing it, I decided to try to shoot with one hand. I've never done that before!

It is hard.

I'll take a picture of the target later and post it, they all hit the paper at 10 yards, but it ain't pretty.

The guy next to me looked like a military type and shot like it too. One hand, 7 yards, entire clip in maybe a silver dollar group. Cool.

·
Registered
3,618 Posts
You want to try something even harder, shoot it one handed in your weak hand. Very humbling.

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
HAH! I actually thought about doing that with my last cylinder, but was worried someone might be watching me!!

·
Registered
6,621 Posts
Us fossils learned to shoot that way...leaving one hand to hold the flashlight out away from us, our coffee, or whatever...it's really not hard, but good grips make the difference...that's why I love Packys so much...they don't move around even when sweaty...one of the best pistoleros ever, Bill Jordan, carried a set of Herrets that had every bit of the checkering sanded off...they were slick as glass...go figure...

·
Registered
1,299 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I don't have much experience to compare to, but that GP100 grip feels very secure. Granted, I was shooting .38, and I am betting I'll notice the grip a little more when I try .357 one handed!

Sheepdog, I can picture you keeping an armed intruder at bay with your pistol in one hand and a black cup o' joe in the other!

·
Registered
2,439 Posts
Was shooting only 38? Man, and I thought you was growed up and heavy on the 357mag. Even my daughter can shoot the 38 one handed!
hehehe, just poking fun.