Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will be purchasing my first handgun soon and have it narrowed down to the Ruger P345 and the Springfield XD 45 compact. I am really having a hard time deciding between the two.
After reading about the problems with the P345 I wrote it off, but have since learned that many of the problems have been fixed. Is this true? I think I would really prefer the feel of the single stack magazine. Does anyone have a picture of the two side by side to show the relative size. Is the P345 as accurate/reliable as the XD?

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
I have no experience with either as i am a fan of the p90.
like you, i have read about issues with the early 345's but also have heard of improvments so i will let 345 owners chime in. Are you planning on concealed carry or does the single stack just fit you better?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The gun will be used mostly for home defense. I will be getting my concealed carry license so I may carry it occasionally. I wouldn't say that I have small hands, but they certainly aren't huge. My dad has a Smith and Wesson single stack 10mm and used to have a P90 but sold it several years ago. I fired the P90 several times but don't remember how it felt, but I didn't have any issues with it. The 10mm fits my hands excellently, so I would imagine a double stack would be bigger, and less comfortable.

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Well, we tend to be a bit ruger head strong here of course, but we tend to like all guns as you have probably already found out.

My best advice is to get to a range and borrow or rent the guns and try them out if possible. From here it comes down to personal likes, features, and so forth and of course what you are confident with.

Which brings me back to the good ole' p90. A longer track record there than the 345 or the xd45 and a gun i have confidence with. But a tad large for concealed carry..........