Ruger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok fellows, I need to see if anyone here has had this problem. I shot 30 rounds out of my new P89 yesterday and on rd # 28 the slide locked about 2/3 of the back,just far enough so that # 28 did not eject. I cleared the pistol and racked the slide several times and had a really tight spot about 2/3 of the way through its travel. I took it down last night and looked for any sign of a "burr" and did not see anything.When I put it back together it worked smooth as silk, so I took it back out this afternoon and out of 43 rds it did the same thing twice. Slide just locked MOST of the way back and had a lot of resistance to being moved. Got it back in the house and it's working smoothly again!! I've been fiddling with guns for 40 years so I'm no rookie. Do I just need to "shoot it in", or have any of you had a problem like this that needed correction other than just shooting?
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
197 Posts
Without being familiar with possible mechanical problems I would first say that maybe it is just a tad tight since it is new. If cleaning it gets it going again I would take some cleaning gear and oil to the range and shoot some, clean/oil if it starts sticking and shoot some more. Hopefully after a couple or three boxes of ammo it will be functioning properly. If not then maybe there is more to it.

·
Registered
155 Posts
skipper49, Take a good look at the Recoil Spring "Guide Rod". It quite possibly could be giving you the occasional "hangup". Remember that Ruger has quite a bit of "tolerance" built into the P-Series pistols and this has been a problem area for them up to this point. All it takes is for it to get just a "little" out of alignment to give this type of problem!............Dick

·
Registered
191 Posts