Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As my wife struggles to decide what her next gun will be, I have begun to realize what a remarkable gun my Ruger P89 is. I have NEVER had an FTF, FTE, Stovepipe, etc. with this gun. Never have I pulled the trigger and had it not go BANG.

Limp wristing has never been a problem no matter who in my family shoots this gun.

Friends of the family who are complete novices have been able to shoot her without problems.

It has shot every brand and kind of ammo I have ever fed it.

As a family we own the P89, a Kel Tek P3AT, a Bersa T380, and a Kimber Compact CDP II. All of the other guns had some occassional problems early on. The Bersa continues to have a problem.

So my question is:

Has anyone here EVER had their P89 fail to shoot?

Just curious.

Thanks,

WM

·
Registered
3,596 Posts
I have had my P89 for at least 6 years and it has never failed me. I have shot 115 grain JHP reloads exclusively through it, and not once has it ever jammed, misfired, or otherwise malfunctioned. I trust it implicitly.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
My P89DC is going on two years old now, & has never failed in anyway. It has seen a lot of rounds in it's life. [^]

·
Registered
343 Posts
Well, someone has to be different. [V] Yes.... I have had some failures although I blame none of them on the gun. I bought my P89 10 years ago in the klintonista era and refused to use the 10 round factory mags. Factory 15 rounders were very rare and so I went with USA mags.
In the first thousand rounds I had one jam - and it really jammed up pretty good. Now...I was using Wolf Ammo and USA mags!! I blame the round actually. I think the OAL was too long and it nosedived in the mag. In defense of Wolf, that was the only round out of a thousand that caused problems. In defense of USA mags, that was the only problem in 1500 rounds fired.