Ruger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
i just need you guys opinion on this.shooting the winchester white box 115 fmj factory ammo i can shoot pretty accurate at 15 yards,they are around 1150 fps.shooting 115 fmj sierra at 1200 fps just doesnt seem as accurate.do i need to load back down to the 1150 fps range?

·
Super Moderator
16,266 Posts
josebd ... I've had extensive experience with the P95 (13,000 rounds), and generally shoot WWB and Federal Champion with good success. How much less accurate is the Sierra by comparison?

·
Registered
5,280 Posts
Your gun is more accurate than you are. At 15 yards I seriously doubt that your choice of ammo would cause any practical difference in accuracy.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #6 (Edited)
i had some berrys 115 fmj loaded up at 4.9 with universal clay with cci 500,win brass,shooting 1224 at 63 degrees.in cooler temp it was lower.went down to 4.7 got it down to 1146 at 63 degrees. do i need to have seperate loads for hot and cold will
the 4.9 be safe in 90-100 degrees?

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
also after i seated bullet i pushed the bullet up against my work bench as hard as i could and bullet didnt move,i did not taper crimp.put them in my barrel everything was good and shot good

·
Super Moderator
16,266 Posts
josebd ... It didn't dawn on me until your last post that you were comparing factory loads to your reloads (Duh ... :eek:)). Since I'm not a reloader, I'll leave this question to someone more qualified (my apologies) :)

·
Registered
1,082 Posts
You might consider posting over in the 'Reloading' section of this forum.

·
Banned
402 Posts
Did you use a Chronograph to test your loads ? or get the velocity from the book ?
what's in the book is what they got, it's what they recorded and meant to get you close.
The book is not gospel and every firearm will produce different results.