Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new here, and I just got a brand new P 95. I took it to the range today fresh out of the box and put 150 rounds through it. I had 122 failures to eject the spent casing. I also had 19 instances where the new round was not properly inserted into the receiver from the magazine which cause a jam. I used 2 different magazines and 3 brands of ammunition. The same response from all.

Any suggestions or did I get a dud?

·
Registered
873 Posts
Run some rounds through it by just racking the slide and not firing. If it ejects all of these, I most likely isn't your ejector. Maybe your chamber has a bit of goop in it and is causing you cases to stick in there?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the suggestion. I'll try that. I'm relatively new to guns, so I'm going to ask a stupid question. Was I supposed to clean it thoroughly before I started shooting? I took it out of the box into started to work with it.

·
Registered
873 Posts
I've heard of people stripping new firearms down and cleaning the snot out of it, but I never thought it was unnecessary. I'm just trying to make sure you don't have to send yours back to the factory. It's worth a shot! BTW, if you are new to guns, the first advise I would give would be, don't read the back of the WD-40 can. It is not ok for firearms! (That can make things slimy and sticky.)

Oh, and BTW, welcome to the forum from Nebraska! Didn't we beat you guys in a football game this last weekend? :D

·
Registered
168 Posts
Have a P95 and have had the same problem. Clean it completely, and put just a little oil on the outside of the barrel, the barrel hood, and along the slide rails. Makes a world of difference.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7