Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I read somewhere that a GP100 trigger job includes polishing the hammer strut. http://www.sp101trigger.com/steps1to10.html mentions "Carefully sand rough spots on the edges of the hammer strut.", but doesn't recommend polishing it.
I didn't think this would make any difference, but I'm new to Ruger. The job required I break out the jewelers' vise, some sandpaper (220, 400, 600, 1500), a jar of elbow grease, polish and the trusty rusty Dremel.
I don't know what Ruger makes the hammer struts out of, but the steel is hard. I still find it hard to believe the results I got. It's almost as big a difference as when you polish the trigger cam.
The actual pull weight went down a bit. The real difference is how the trigger feels.
Gentlemen, I feel the results are worth the work.
Let me know if you get different results.
:D

·
Registered
524 Posts
Good to know! I always kinda shirked the polishing of the strut. I paid attention to the edges though. Pull get better, but I will have to break 'er down again.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Straightwall: Let me know how it works out for you.
bwinters: Thans. My trigger finger wouldn't last 5k all at once (arthritis). I'll get there in time.
I think I'll get about half a dozen more GPs.

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Gentlemen, I feel the results are worth the work.
I've taken the time to do that since reading through a couple articles back in the '80's. Several Rugers from my Security Six through my GP100 and SA's all improved for feel and function. For anyone anticipating the adventure, a good bench vise helps hold things steady when re-installing the spring for final assembly.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Re: vice.
I bought a Stanley 83-065 vise that clamps to my work bench. It's like a third (strong) hand.

·
Registered
172 Posts