Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This afternoon I was working some loads up for 9mm so I can transition for Hogdon CFE pistol powder to HP-38 since HP-38 seems to be the only powder I can get in my area.

Anyway, I am reloading 9MM and noticed that for a 9MM 115 Grain bullet the starting load is 4.7 grains and the max load is 5.1 grains. For 124 grain bullet the starting load is 3.9 to and the max load 4.4 grains.

I'm new to reloading so i apologize in advance if the following is a basic very question. Why does a lighter weight bullet uses a higher charge while a heavier bullet requires a lighter powder charge?

Thanks.....

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
The heavier bullet is usually seated deeper in the case so the powder charge needs to be less to avoid over pressuring the cartridge.

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·

·
Registered
490 Posts
I looked at the link also. Very good. Very informative.
I hope you like the HP-38. I am a big fan of the CFE Pistol Powder. I have loaded some with the HP-38 and have had good results with it also. It appears to be the most accurate in my 9 mm at the max load you listed. I started at 4.0 grains and also loaded some at the 4.4. The hotter load grouped tighter, but to be honest I have not finished working on loads with the HP-38. The 4.4 grains does not feel as hot as my load in the CFE, but I won't go any higher than the 4.4 grains of HP-38. It is a clean burning powder.
I have noticed that many of the pros load with faster burning powder such as HP38/W231 or Tightgroup in the 9 mm. There has to be a very good reason for that. I like it in 9 mm but prefer slower, or much slower, powder in 357 magnum. It allows me to get much higher velocity without raising the pressure and wearing out my guns. Hey! If I am shooting a 357, I want it to be Magnum and not 38 special. :D

Good luck with it the HP-38. :D

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·