Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Proper head, neck & torso posture using iron/fiber optic sights w/ sight options

This is not a question about how to form a proper sight picture by lining up front and rear sights. I know that part.

Instead it's a question about ... proper torso, head, neck and arm positions and posture while gaining that sight picture. I know it's not easy to describe that using words -- pictures or videos would be much better -- but thought I'd ask.

Some background. I've been shooting rifles for over six decades, but have rarely used iron sights ... for long. In the past, I've either scoped a rifle or used ghost rings.

But I've recently purchased a new Ruger 10/22 Compact -- so far only with the short LOP stock module. I bought the rifle mainly for the short (16"+ barrel), and to try out the fiber optic sights, not so much the short LOP. I'm 5'9" with fairly long arms, and usually use a standard LOP comfortably, but I thought maybe with winter clothing on (see my location) the short LOP could be workable. It's not. So I'm planning to add a standard LOP, low comb module from ShopRuger (they're out of stock now), and eventually a Hogue overmolded stock for the 10/22 (which it appears may have a slightly larger comb drop than the stock stock) -- I'd get the latter now if it was in my budget, but I must wait to see what Christmas brings.

I think the fiber optics are made by Williams, but regardless, I really like them. They make lining up the sights correctly very easy -- those light tubes glow like little neon points of light even in the fading light of dusk.