Ruger Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Sky Marshal
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One of my many questions on bolt action rifles, and the Ruger Scout. I'm new to bolt actions, so I'm really trying to get up to speed.

I just got a GSR a few weeks ago, and I've been working on getting it fully set up and equipped.
Setting LOP seems to be a pretty important task, but I can't seem to find anything other than holding your arm at a 90 degree angle and checking to see if the end of the stock touches the crook of your arm.
BTW, mine doesn't even come close, it's a good couple of inches away from the inside of my elbow when held by the grip with my finger on the trigger (unloaded, of course). Just for reference, I'm 6'3" and wear shirts with a 37" sleeve.

This method just doesn't seem to me to be very accurate. The only detailed material I can seem to find is written for shotgun shooters, and I don't know if that applies to a rifle.

Does anyone have any advice for me, especially for how to verify that the LOP is set correctly. I suspect I'll be adding all the spacers that came with the rifle, but I'd like to know if I need to do that.
I'm going to mount the scope (long eye relief) soon, and want to get the LOP set correctly first.

·
Registered
5,177 Posts
Here’s what I’ve found to be the best and most accurate way to find your LOP.

Stand with your arms at your side. Bend your arm 90 degrees at the elbow up in front of you

Make an imaginary pistol grip and a natural trigger finger curl.

Measure from the elbow joint just below the bicep down your forearm to the middle of the pad on your trigger finger.

This number is your LOP............if it’s going to be cold weather hunting subtract a 1/4 to a 1/2” for clothing.

·
Registered
20 Posts
You put the gun butt in the crook of your arm and try to insert your finger in the guard and onto the trigger with your finger in the natural position for shooting. Quickly shows you what the LOP is.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts