Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I will post pictures when I have the guns back (dad wanted to play with them for a while.....) but,

I have a blackhawk and single-six that would both look bitchin with some nice grips. As a carpenter, I like pretty wood.

Since they are both 35 years old and look it, anyone have tips for restoring them to a factory shine? They have been cared for, no rust or major blemishes or anything, but the bluing is starting to wear and I would like a nice high-gloss look, suitable for display. I hate to say it, but their shooting days may be over, I want them to be art now. I have more guns than I can really pay attention to as it is.

If I can do this relatively easily, I might do it to my old Savage 99, one of the Model 12s and so on....make a nice look for the day when I have a den or something.

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
Lightly break the glaze on the wood with 00-brass wool. This what I use as you don't want to change the shape. Get some Tur-oil at Home Depot. Put on real light coat and dry over night. After about 5 to 7 days they shold be looking real good. Good luck.

Best,Baldy.

·
Registered
708 Posts
RP, there are enough GOOD gunsmiths out there who can do whatever it is to "purty up" any of YOUR stuff... all it takes is MONEY....
a high polish is not a problem, you say they are 35 years old , so most likely are still 'new models' (AFTER 1973) and would NOT effect any collectors value, as if they were "old models"......they are YOUR guns and you can do what you like. I have advised and done stuff for others over the years and feel it can go either way. Now that I am older and appreciate the 'nostalgia' of "old models",not so quick to advise to "refinish, as I LIKE the oldmodels and their original finish. Tough to 'replicate properly' and maybe costly , and if done wrong, affect, the guns resale value. So there are the two schools of thought.