Ruger Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting started with reloading but am a little confused on differences in load data. For example, I'm looking at the following .38 sp load:

Bullet: Hornady 125 gr. FP XTP
Powder: W231
Primer: WSP

Hornady’s 9th edition lists the starting load at 4.8 gr /max load 5.7 gr. However, the Hodgdon website shows a starting load 4.3 gr/max load 4.9 gr. for the same bullet.

Why the difference? The manual says published loads are within safe pressure limits, but why is the Hornady range so much higher than Hodgdon? If I start at 4.8 gr. and work up, I'm almost beyond the max range that Hodgdon recommends. What am I missing?
Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
3,560 Posts
You didn't say, but are they both for W231 powder?

Were they both using the same test gun? One might be a pressure barrel, the other a Ruger or S&W. That would make a difference too.

I would read the fine print. I doubt that the test setup would be exactly the same in both cases.

·
Registered
273 Posts
As stated, each loading manual shows the results of their testing using their particular gun and their brands and lots of components.
The rule is to use the lowest starting load you can find. That implies a minimum of two sources. In most cases, the starting load is simply a 10% reduction from the max load and is not the minimum safe load.
In 40 years, I have twice found the starting load in a manual to be max or over max in my gun and my components. This does not mean the manual was wrong, it means that I am lucky I did not simply start off with that starting load. In several other guns, that starting load was perfectly fine, but in the one gun, it had recoil harder than factory and the cases were thrown far from my main pile.