Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
126 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Do you folks carry with the chamber loaded and pistol ready to fire (safety on, of course), or do you carry with the chamber empty and thus needing to be chambered/cocked? (Please excuse the probably non-orthodox language - I'm a beginner.) If loaded, does constant tension hurt the striker spring? I am wondering about this, considering whether the LC9 (double action) would be better than the SR9C (single action). I much prefer the trigger feel of the SR9C.

·
Registered
313 Posts
Welcome from Pennsylvania!

Your question, well... I suggest you grab a chair and make some popcorn because you're going to get answers from both sides in terms of one in the chamber or not, and safety on or not. ;) I don't think wear on the spring is of any concern.

I personally carry my SR9c with one in the chamber and the safety on.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Welcome from Iowa, I am new to the forum as well. As to your question.... I have an LCP. Just for similarity purposes, in forms of firearms. I have carried the LCP with one in the chamber ready to rock. I have not seen any issues with light hammer strikes from extended periods of time with the hammer back. I don't own a LC9 or a SR9 so I don't know how similar the internal components are between lcp and lc9. IMHO I would go the SR9C or full sized more round capacity. Thus if you ever get in a panic situation (hope you never do) and you miss the first couple of shots, you don't have to worry if you have enough bullets... good choices for guns though!!!!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Uh Oh

I carry my 9c with one in the chamber and ready to go... but... :eek: I don't keep the safety on. I feel as long as the trigger is covered, it won't accidentally discharge.

·
Registered
933 Posts