Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and good Sunday morning to all.
I am a newbie here - Joined because I seemingly have an issue and cannot find anything posted anywhere on it. So here goes.

I have a new Ruger SR22
I bought when i could find it - Federal Champion 36 grain 1260 fps bulk ammo.
I took this SR22 to the range last week - it ran through 100 rounds like a champ with absolutely no issues.
Came back from the range - did a basic take down and cleaning using Ballistol. Put everything back together and cycled some steelworks 22lr "snapcaps" to make sure everything was good. Worked fine.
Went to the range yesterday - same deal with the Fed Champs - However the problems began.

First round shoots - does not extract and the casing is stuck in the barrel - the second round is either still in the mag or stuck behind it. the slide was back however not fully and not locked back.
Pull the mag, make sure im clear - pull the casing out. Try it again and the same problem occurs. This happened repeatedly 3-5 times. I could not even shoot it.

I took the gun home - cleaned it again this time wiping maybe some excess oil - seemingly I might have used too much Ballistol when initially cleaning that i figured the extractor was not pulling out the casing.
This is new gun - shot flawlessly the first 100 rounds.
The question - what can it be?
Have i done something wrong? Did i over oil the gun? Everything was cleaned properly. It cycles the steelworks snapcaps just fine. I cannot wrap my head around this.
Any advice and suggestions would be greatly appreciated from the community.

If it is ammo - I have a couple other 22lr available on hand - Besides the 36 grain Fed Champ - I have hollow point 36 or 40 grain Super Extra by Aguila as well as some Herters 1400 HVHP round nose.
Should i test with these?

Thanks in advance to all.

·
Registered
64 Posts