Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all I just wanted to say that I've read alot of useful info from you guys and it's helped this newbie understand things better. I just bought a used P95 recently and got to shoot it yesterday at the range. I had a great time since I hadn't shot a pistol in about ten years. I put about 200 rounds through it with no problems. This is my first gun and I'm still learning but I do have a question. I did a field strip of my pistol today and noticed this little recoil spring retainer came loose in my lap after I pulled the recoil springs out. I watched a video online of a guy showing how to disassemble a P-95 and this little retainer was attatched to his recoil springs when he took his apart. I put the gun back together and made sure everything worked and everything seems to be fine but now it's got me wondering that this little piece is gonna effect the performance of my gun. I did a search on the internet and have read that the spring assembly retainer will come off after a while and that the people just continue to shoot the gun as it had no effect on performance just made it a little harder to assemble when field stripping it. Thanks for the help everyone and I hope I haven't confused anyone here.

·
Registered
191 Posts
What you read is correct. You can shoot the pistol without a problem. However, I suggest you call Ruger service in Prescott and tell them about it. They will probably relace the whole ass'y for you.

·
Registered
1,641 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Glad you like your P 95. Call Ruger and see if they will send you
a new spring with retainer.

·
Registered
49 Posts