Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently took my 45 Redhawk down, did a light polish on trigger surfaces, and installed a 14 pound mainspring. Afterward, it wouldn’t ignite Winchester primers, but did ignite Federal primers every time. So, I re-installed the factory spring, and it still won’t fire Winchester primers.

This is my first Redhawk, and I’ve never worked with the single spring action before. Is it possible I got something out of whack on assembly? I’d really appreciate some help.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Recently took my 45 Redhawk down, did a light polish on trigger surfaces, and installed a 14 pound mainspring. Afterward, it wouldn’t ignite Winchester primers, but did ignite Federal primers every time. So, I re-installed the factory spring, and it still won’t fire Winchester primers.

This is my first Redhawk, and I’ve never worked with the single spring action before. Is it possible I got something out of whack on assembly? I’d really appreciate some help.
I've heard Winchester primers are often harder. I've never had trouble with their 9mm or 223, but Herter's 22 is no fun.

Have you ever had luck with the same Winchester cartridges on that specific revolver? Or did you modify it prior to ever shooting the Winchesters? What specific cartridge is it (e.g., grain, White Box, etc.)?

Did you inspect the primers and try striking them again? Could be a bad box, you never know.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've heard Winchester primers are often harder. I've never had trouble with their 9mm or 223, but Herter's 22 is no fun.

Have you ever had luck with the same Winchester cartridges on that specific revolver? Or did you modify it prior to ever shooting the Winchesters? What specific cartridge is it (e.g., grain, White Box, etc.)?

Did you inspect the primers and try striking them again? Could be a bad box, you never know.