Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
285 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have been reloading pistol caliber's for a few years now but have never reloaded rifle ammo. I currently have on hand a few pounds of Varget but I have been reading that some folks prefer H335 for .223 reloads. Other than Varget being extruded and H335 being spherical is one powder better suited for .223 reloads ?

Thank you....

·
Corps Commander NGV
5,018 Posts
There are lots of powders that are suitable. Check the manuals for the bullet weight you are considering. I have good results with H4895 with 55gr bullets in both my 20" and 26" .223 rifles.

·
"The Real Deal"
7,065 Posts
Both are good powders for .223 rem. I have found that 335 does really well with the 40 grain vmax. Varget is a good powder across many weights for the .223. I use a small rifle magnum primer for the 335, std small rifle primer for varget. But either will serve you well.

·
Registered
308 Posts
I use Varget for my 55gr rounds through a Lyman powder measure and it seems to be just fine. When I use IMR 8208xbr, it is like measuring cornflakes... lots of crunching and halting... not sure why that is. I have loaded about 1500 so far and fired over 600 and no issues. I have some 335 but have not dipped into them yet.

·
"The Real Deal"
7,065 Posts
I use Varget for my 55gr rounds through a Lyman powder measure and it seems to be just fine. When I use IMR 8208xbr, it is like measuring cornflakes... lots of crunching and halting... not sure why that is. I have loaded about 1500 so far and fired over 600 and no issues. I have some 335 but have not dipped into them yet.