Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
10,156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I have been reloading for several years! I am wanting to just reload now for the following calibers. .357/.38 special, 9mm, & .223 Remington. Currently have a old RCBS Jr. Press. I want to get a progressive press but I don't have a Dillon budget. Any thoughts about a Lee Pro 1000 or a Lee Load Master? Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated in advance thanks!:confused:

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
I'm waiting to find a Loadmaster for my choice. The five hole turret is what made up my mind, but they are really close in capabilities.

Jeff

·
Registered
110 Posts
I'm sure this thread will bring a ton of replies so here's my experience as a reloader of over 40 years of experience much of that with progressive machines. Remember this one trade name; DILLON.

Most likely the Lee 1000 and the Loadmaster work for many people but my experience with two 1000's and one Loadmaster were not good, and I've heard enough similar stories to think that these machines are not worth the trouble they might present.

My last Lee was a new Loadmaster and that was such a maddening P.O.S. that rather than continue calling Lee for help or seeking a refund from the dealer I simply unbolted that sucker from the bench and marched it out to the dumpster. I have NEVER thrown a tool away before or since but that one put me over the edge.

After I wised up.....Jeeeze, it only took three Lee presses.....I bought my first RL 550 and never looked back. Over the years I've purchased a second 550 and then an RL 650.

I've never seen figures to support this but I'd guess Dillon is the overwhelming choice of high volume shooters everywhere.

I have learned the hard way that if the cost of a tool doesn't make you wince it won't be good enough.

·
Ausmerican.
42,767 Posts
Another blue kool aid drinker.
RL550B doing well by me, I just wanted to do it right first time around.

·
Registered