Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
1,301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
[8D] Hey guys what is your favorite press to load with[?][^][?]
I am new at loading myself about 7mos. I started out with a Dillon SDB and I really like it now. I was self taught and I made a bunch of mistakes. I sill got a lot to learn, but we are doing OK. I had a Lee Pro 1000 for awhile and it was OK but you had to keep a eye on that sucker at every station every time you pulled the handle. I am going to buy another SDB when I get some dough, and I'll have one for large primers, and one for small primers. All I do is pistols, and you can't beat the big Blue for that. Here's mind.
Drink the Blue Cool Aid...[^]:)[^]

·
Registered
3,581 Posts
Looks like you got a great set-up. I have heard nothing but good things about Dillon stuff. I just have a couple of single stage presses. One is a very old CH Bear (C Press) and a Lee Challenger Press(O press) .

·
Forum Founder
3,639 Posts
Most presses will do a good job. I use a Lee Turrent Press and one reason I like it is that you can change the turrent with the dies in it and don't have to re-adjust the dies. Just change turrents and you are ready to load a differenc caliber.

·
Registered
54 Posts
My friend owns a Dillon XL650 I think. We use it pretty much for reloading our 44Mag/Spl. for Cowboy Action Shooting and it works great. With both of us working at it, at the same time to keep things from running out/empty and Quality Control checking, I can't see how anybody could crank out the 800-1000 rounds an hour. I can't remember the best we did, but it was somewhere near the 800 rounds an hour. We tried changing the Machine Head, so we can leave the 44 dies attached to the original and have the others Machine Heads set-up for different rounds, but since it's been so long we are having trouble with set-up. I guess we need to break out the VHS tape and pause it every other second to stay with the directions.

·
Registered
43 Posts