Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
2,574 Posts
Welcome to the forum from NE Ohio! I have no experience with the .44 semi auto carbine. I would STRONGLY suggest downloading or finding the manual. They were VERY ammunition sensitive from reports of those I know to have had one. And I think the gas system had some adjustability to it.... meaning it needs cleaned/adjusted to your load. Maybe! Again, WELCOME!

·
Registered
Ruger .44 Carbine, Security-Six, Service-Six, Mini-14, .30 Carbine Blackhawk
1,539 Posts
Welcome from South Texas.

I have a '63 Ruger .44 Carbine, however I don't remember ever having this issue.
I'm not at home this morning, I will try looking this evening to see if I can duplicate your issue.

I'm curious how long you have had the rifle and if you are shooting factory ammo or reloads?

Reactions: Usmciraqvet

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Welcome from South Texas.

I have a '63 Ruger .44 Carbine, however I don't remember ever having this issue.
I'm not at home this morning, I will try looking this evening to see if I can duplicate your issue.

I'm curious how long you have had the rifle and if you are shooting factory ammo or reloads?
I’m shooting factory ammo. Fiochi. I inherited this rifle. It shoots great. The first shot is perfect. Next round starts to chamber but the mag tube tries to send two out instead of one. I can push the second round back into the tube and it will chamber by itself.
In other words, the bolt goes back with a new round and hangs up bc of the mag tube allowing another out of the tube. Like the cartridge stop is sticking

·
Registered
1,539 Posts
I’m shooting factory ammo. Fiochi. I inherited this rifle. It shoots great. The first shot is perfect. Next round starts to chamber but the mag tube tries to send two out instead of one. I can push the second round back into the tube and it will chamber by itself.