Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ruger Redhawk 45colt/45acp

I am new to this form, I was glad to read alot of info on Ruger double actions.

I am not new to shooting, been shooting for over 60 years.

I am about ready to purchase a Ruger Redhawk in 45colt/45acp.

Looking for your opinion on the gun before I spend the money.

Thanks
Gary

·
Banned
29,620 Posts
Welcome from New Jersey. Learn and enjoy. The 45/45 redhawk will give you better accuracy in 45 colt usually. In 45 acp the much shorter round will go a much longer distance before it eb=nguages the rifling in the barrel. I woud get one if you want one I love my Redhawks.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Welcome from New Jersey. Learn and enjoy. The 45/45 redhawk will give you better accuracy in 45 colt usually. In 45 acp the much shorter round will go a much longer distance before it eb=nguages the rifling in the barrel. I woud get one if you want one I love my Redhawks.
Thanks, I was wondering if anyone has shot 45 Cowboy Special in this gun ?

Gary

·
Registered
216 Posts
Buy it

Mine is a little more accurate with the cowboy stuff then the hotter loads

Sent from my LM-G710VM using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

I am still looking for opinions on this gun

I can't buy one right now as our Governor has all the gun shops in New Mexico shut down. The NRA is suing the state because of it.

Thanks
Gary

·
Registered
1,322 Posts
I bought mine to have the option of shooting hotter loads. I could not do that with the Vaquero. In hindsight I could have considered the super redhawk. I liked the look and feel of the Redhawk. I did not like the standard grip on the Redhawk with hotter loads. After installing the Hogue rubber grips it was much more pleasant to shoot. Shooting the 45 ACP is fun. Couldn’t do that with the Super Redhawk but I believe there is a Super Blackhawk convertible. I might be wrong about that.

·