Ruger Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, first time posting here, glad to join a community with many knowledgable gunsmiths here.

I was looking to replace my A2 front sight gas block on my Ruger 556 with a low profile one in order to slip on a free float handguard. Well, I've gotten past the notorious removal of the A2 front sight, however I am less confident about installing the new low profile gas block I purchased. I purchased the AT3 Tactical low profile micro steel gas block, it uses two set screws which I noticed is common. However the 556 I am installing it on doesnt seem to have the holes for the set scews(Apologies if this isnt the right terminology, I am new to these things). Instead of the holes for the set scews it has two holes where it looks like pins would go to pin it to the barrel (I have attached a picture for reference). There is also nothing on the underside of the barrel either.

My questions to those gunsmithing guru's out there is: Did I purchase the wrong gas block? Do I need to purchase one with pins instead of set screws? If possible I would like to be able to get this accomplished without drilling holes in gas block I have, or dimpling the barrel as I am not confident I could do those accurately.

·
"The Real Deal"
8,243 Posts
Its no big deal. The set screws are what you need to install the gas block. basically if you have a dremel tool with a cutting blade you can install it.