Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I am new to the AR style rifles. This is my first one. Well my second technically because my first one had to go back to Ruger and wasreplaced. This is my replacement rifle I just received. Being new to these styles of rifles I am unsure about what is acceptable and what isn't when it comes to tolerances and gaps etc... I have noticed on my new MPR that I can see right through between the upper and lower. And in the rear of the rifle there is a pretty large gap. Is this normal? I tried to get the best picture I could take and one of the pics used a flash light to further show what I am talking about. The other issues I am concerned with is the gas tube seems to be loose, When I pick the rifle up it freely moves around and rattles or I can move it with my finger. The last thing I would say I am more disappointed in and not so much a potential problem is Ruger sent me this replacement rifle and it is DIRTY. Its caked on the inside of the rifle. I am guessing they test fired it and not cleaned it at all? I completely understand that I can clean it and I will, I just would have thought a "new replacement" would have been a bit cleaner than this. I have other Ruger rifles and firearms and never had one sent to me dirty like this Pics attached . I don't want to seem like I am nit picking by any means. Just want some opinions on if this is normal or an acceptable replacement they sent me?

Thank you.

Attachments

·
Emperor
885 Posts
It is pretty common to have gaps between the upper and lower receivers of an AR type rifle or carbine.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Personally, that gap looks excessive. I have several ARs, including a 556TD. A few of them I also assembled myself from non-matched receiver sets. None of them, including the Ruger exhibit any significant gaps.