Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Checking with the experts as I was inspecting a Ruger Scout today and I noticed when I pulled the bolt all the way to the rear there seemed to be a lot of play that it could move side to side with a lot of room to jiggle around.

Is this normal?

I did compare it to another 308 bolt they had, but it was a Savage (no other Rugers). I know my 77/357 isn't like that though that's a whole another animal as the bolt can't be pulled back that far out of the receiver.

Just checking it out before I decide to buy that wonderful looking 308!

·
Registered
2 Posts
My 308 GSR has the same wobbly bolt -- from first break-open all the way to the rear. Problem is that that makes it require 2-3 "jiggles" to pull the bolt all the way back, then one or two more to eject the brass. I'm no novice at this -- 58 yrs old, shot lots of bolt guns, and this one has problems even after a trip back to the factory. And it does NOT matter what sort of lube I use. Just really sloppy machining of the receiver, I guess?? Anybody else have this problem.

·
needs more ammo
1,096 Posts
My 308 GSR has the same wobbly bolt -- from first break-open all the way to the rear. Problem is that that makes it require 2-3 "jiggles" to pull the bolt all the way back, then one or two more to eject the brass.
Is this a new GSR? My bolt was rough until I cycled it maybe a few hundred times to "break it in". I had to do plenty of dry firing as well to break in the camming action of cocking the striker on opening.

The thing about the GSR is that the rear receiver bridge is very short and doesn't lend a lot of support to the bolt when all the way back. Some guns have longer receiver bridges that support the bolt better.

Yet, you mention extraction and ejection of brass. Does your Ruger have the same problem without firing live ammo?

·
Registered
256 Posts