Ruger Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I got my new New Vaquero a few days ago. I am new to guns so please bear with me. I removed the cylinder for basic cleaning, put it back together, and wanted to check if it's functioning properly (as it says in the manual). So I performed all the steps listed in the manual but when I tried to open the loading gate when the hammer is cocked, it released the hammer. It took about the same force as actually opening the loading gate (it's still a bit stiff). It's supposed to not be possible to open the loading gate when the hammer is cocked, which it didn't, but I didn't expect it to act as if I had pulled the trigger.

My guess is that as the loading gate pivot stud turns towards the transfer bar as I open the loading gate, it contacts the transfer bar and slightly lifts it upwards, which has the same effect as pulling the trigger. My first guess was that the cylinder latch contacts the trigger a little bit as it moves downwards and the little friction between the cylinder latch and trigger causes the trigger to release the hammer.

It is the Illinois Bicentennial edition of New Vaquero, which, as I understand it, comes with a light trigger spring. And it is indeed a very light trigger. Has anyone had this happened to them? I think this might be just the consequence of having a light trigger spring. But I really like this trigger so I don't think I will be replacing it. I am just curious to see if someone with light trigger spring noticed this as well or if there is anything that can be done about this.

Thank you,
pejsek

·
Registered
299 Posts
^^^^^
He indicated that trying to open the loading gate with the hammer cocked is a check recommended by Ruger. Since I don't have the correct manual, I can't verify/refute that part.
Either way, that doesn't explain how/why opening the loading gate trips the hammer.

·
Registered
50 Posts