Ruger Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all, thanks in advance for any advice you may give!

I'm brand new to both this forum, and the Ruger PC Carbine. Let me start by saying I LOVE this gun. I've got about 300 rounds through it at this point without a single issue other than the follwing, and the features are totally awesome.

I'm shooting Remington 115gr. HTP hollow points, and my groups have been unbelievably tight for a pistol caliber firearm. I have a Sight Mark Wolverine red dot, high mounted with a peep-through mount for the ghost ring sights as a backup. Kick *** setup.

Immediately after buying the rifle and red dot, I went to the range, sighted it in on a bipod at 25 and then 50 yards, was nailing tacks with both the optic and the irons. Feeling like a badass, I took it home, and went to about 15 yards from a standing position and was WAAAY off with the red dot - like 3 MOA low in elevation. Windage was good. Upon further investigation, the irons were true in both shooting configurations. Thinking the sight was loosened, I checked it, but it was tight as a drum (I wrenched it down at the range, it was going nowhere).

I didn't make any optic adjustments, but I then went out to 25 yards at home, set up a table, and with the bipod, I was on my mark like a champ - both irons and optic - without having adjusted anything. As soon as I stand up and fire without upward pressure on the forend from a bipod, I'm a good 3MOA low. As soon as I sit down and put pressure on the forend from the bipod, I'm on my mark. Again, iron sights remain consistently zeroed regardless of my shooting position.

I'm inclined to not blame the red dot, as the groupings themselves are super tight - averaging less than 3/4" at 25 yards. But consistently, they are the same amount off without pressure on the forend.