Ruger Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. First post for me.

I bought a Security 9 brand new a couple months ago. I have a little over 400 rounds thru it. I noticed all of the serrations (front, back, both sides) have a very slight orange color to them. I can rub a little oil in them and wipe them good, and no orange comes off onto the cleaning patch. Just curious if anybody else knows what this is.

See image. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,434 Posts
Just curious what type of solvent and oil are you using to clean your pistol? I'm no expert but any type of orange color on steel would concern me that there may be rust forming. Serrations get all the oils from our hands and depending on how you holster, if the slide is touching skin it can cause rust which is why you need to wipe it down daily if carried daily. Oil won't remove rust but a good solvent like Hoppes #9 will help get rid of it. Could be in the very early stage.

·
Registered
502 Posts
Sounds like corrosion to me. A light coat of a good gun oil should take care of it. If you have a real heartache over it, call Ruger. They should be able to answer your questions.

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
@rswink: Yes, front, back, both sides.

@Revolverguy: I use Hoppes 9 gun bore cleaner (I've only used it for the barrel so far), and I use Hoppes 9 lubricating gun oil. I haven't tried removing the orange-ish color with the gun bore cleaner or any other kind of solvent yet. What's bizarre is that I don't even use the front serrations, nor do I handle my gun at the front end of the pistol. Those front serrations have very limited contact, if any, yet they're the same amount of orange - and I think a little more - compared to the rear serrations.

I'm a little hesitant to try using solvent on the serrations for now, in fear that it may also remove some of the bluing.