Ruger Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm about to purchase an LCR, and pretty much have my mind made up on getting the .38 for lighter carry use and better recoil management. That being said however, if you shoot a .38 out of a .357 LCR, is the. 38 less accurate because the bullet has to 'jump' the extra length from cylinder to barrel?

It may be a stupid question but I'm fairly new to revolvers and I'm curious about it. I never would have thought of it except for reading about accuracy issues with say, the Taurus Judge, because the .45 Colts are so much shorter than the .410 shells the jump to barrel throws it off.

Edited because autocorrect screwed this post

·
Registered
Northwest Oregon
2,461 Posts
Typically they are slightly less accurate, but the LCR is not a target gun. It is intended for close up personal protection.

·
Registered
1,955 Posts
You're not going to be trying to achieve micro precision, just good target impact. When I use my 101 I shoot .38 ammo.

I'm not figuring on hitting a small spot at 25 yards, just what I'm aiming at.

·
Registered
4,407 Posts
The extra distance is small and just before the cylinder throats, so I feel the throats and forcing cone pretty much take care of it. I'm getting 4 inch groups at 12 yards out of my LCR-357, shooting .38s (130 gr FMJ). I'm not a very good shot, so I'm satisfied. In a SD situation, that should put me somewhere between the bad guy's armpits.

·
Registered
1,105 Posts
I am more accurate shooting 38 out of my LCR-357. Partly because the recoil of 357 is enough to make me flinch as I pull the trigger. I'm working on it. If you can put all your shots in an 8" circle at 10-12 yards, I think you are accurate enough to hit what you are aiming at.

·
Registered
828 Posts
I don't feel you'll see any loss of accuracy, like others have said, you'll probably see an increase because of the recoil, unless you are really good at your trigger control.