Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys n gals. I just bought a Ruger New Vaquero in 45 LC. I do not shoot in competitions. I just love the looks of the gun. My family likes going to the range to shoot. So i just need advice on ammo. I would like information on ammunition to shoot at the range. And ammunition to keep in the gun for home protection. Simple answers please . Im just an amateur.

·
Registered
Hirschjäger
710 Posts
First off, welcome to the forum.

.45 Colt isn't a caliber I have, so can't help with specific performance and/or brands of ammo.

However, for target shooting, you'll want any of the loads out there that are "solid", like lead Round Nose or Semi-Wadcutters. There are also rounds that are marketed for Cowboy Action Shooting, which are usually a lot lower recoiling.

For home defense, you will want something that expands, like a Jacketed Hollow point or Jacketed Soft Point.

For the .45 Colt, there are a fow loads out there that are heavy hunting loads with heavy bullets (The brand Buffalo Bore comes to mind). I advise to stay away from those until you get more familiar with your Blackhawk.

Other folks with more experience with the caliber will be able to give specifics.

Enjoy your Blackhawk and your time with your family.

Aqualung

·
Registered
261 Posts
I have a SW 25-5. So no Ruger loads for it. But i shoot 200 grain SWC. And accura outdoors 250 plated bullets. Both have been very accurate for me. I load them with Green dot. But if your not a reloader. The cowboy action ammo is nice for target. I bought them to start out with. Bottom of page. SD rounds i do not get into the latest wizbang ammo. Standard hollow points would be fine.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Hornady critical defense, been around a long time they work. As said cowboy loads for plinking, I reload 45lc for pennies on the dollar SWC bullets over unique powder

·
Registered
89 Posts