Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, my LGS (actually, the store I go to buy coffee, CTC) has a bunch. They're CHEAP!
Is it worth having one? These are Russian.
I know nothing about them. Ballistics? Caliber?
Thinking cheap 30/30?
Educate me.
Lyle

·
Registered
162 Posts
I am not an expert on them, but I did purchase a Chinese norinco SKS back before they quit importing them into the US (early 90's, I think I paid like $80 for it). I wish I had purchased 10 of them :>)

They are a lot of fun to shoot, and pretty inexpensive ammo. There are lots and lots of information and parts out there in internet land to do pretty much whatever you wish.

They shoot the 7.62 x 39 round (think AK)

Mine is pretty accurate at 100 yards. I understand the Russian models are some of the best..

These are very tough, and rugged guns.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=euidB98KiIU

Ron

·
Registered
10,156 Posts
All of the above I would try and buy a Russian made SKS if possible. Yes roughly 30-30 power etc. I do not know whats considered cheap in Canada vs US dollars etc. But I have seen them listed here for around 300-400.00 dollars. My son in law has one he consider's them cheap nothing compared to a AK47 thats about all I know about them good luck!!! I watched the You Tube video this guy sure didn't shoot this gun at very long range! But have to admit they look plenty fun to shoot!

·
Registered
673 Posts