Ruger Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
bought a Ruger Max 9 with safety at Academy about 2 weeks ago. I headed to the range to shoot it for 1st time yesterday. But after pulling back the slide release and inserting a loaded magazine, the slide wouldn’t release at all. Used strong hand to pull back and release slide and weak hand to disengage slide stop to no avail. I even ejected the mag and it still wasn’t release. Has this ever happened to anyone else? I’m new to Ruger and have used both the Hellcat and M&P Shield for years. Very disappointing to not even be able to get off a single shot!
Sleeve Grey Air gun Trigger Gun barrel
Sleeve Grey Trigger Air gun Gun barrel

·
Registered
463 Posts
Can you depress the slide stop lever or is it frozen?
That said, this is clearly a "well used" carry gun. Somebody somewhere in it's life may have bubba'd something and that's why it was traded. First thing I'd do is check the SN on Rugers site to see when it was made. Second thing would be to bring it back to Acadamy. All else failing, you need to call Ruger.

·
Registered
2,440 Posts
Now that is a shame. Luckily for you, Ruger will probably fix it even if it is used. They are very good at taking care of problems.

On the picture of the left side of the gun; is it me, or does it look like there is some of the same material used on the grip poking out between the slide and the frame?

·
Registered
1,416 Posts
Looks like the tab in front the safety lever is catching in the slide. Is that part of the frame insert assembly? Seems like that tab should be flush with the grip frame.

look at the trigger and the pin on the right side. It's all scraped up. Someone took the frame insert out and didn't get it set back in correctly. That's what I see.

Saw Aggiegrad's post in another Max 9 thread. The tab in this photo fits into the grip frame notch much better. See pic in post #12
New Max-9 woes.... | Ruger Forum

·
Registered
95 Posts