Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, bear with me as I'm still learning about 357 magnum.
I have an SP101 that I really enjoy shooting. Mostly 38, but like too shoot magnums as well. The problem for me is 158gr kinda hurts. The 125s don't. I keep reading about flame cutting and forcing cone issues from the lighter bullets. Is the Remington UMC 357 125 gr on the higher end of pressure, or is it a milder load? What about Federal C357B? That's what I carry in my gun. I understand the flame cutting (it's got a very small cut) but I don't want to destroy gun.

Thanks. I know this might be beating a dead horse, but I'm still learning.

·
Registered
952 Posts
Learning the snub too. My SP101 is only a week old. Been doing a lot of research on different .38spl/.357mag rounds through a short barrel. I reload so that's why I'm so interested.
I read, and it makes sense to me, that optimum would be a fast-burning powder behind a heavy bullet would lessen the cone and cutting issues.
Burn as much powder as possible in the case/chamber before it gets to the gap. The heavier bullet keeps it contained a bit longer, getting the mass moving.
158gn SWC in front of Titegroup will be my first .38spl experiment.
As far as factory ammo, I'm not sure.

·
Registered
524 Posts
It is my understanding that flame cutting goes only so far and then it stops. Flame cutting will not cause the top strap to fail.

·
Registered
442 Posts
The fears of 125 Federals and Remington 357 apply to Smith&Wesson K frame magnums.

Keep the forcing cone cylinder clean and that helps your weapon and your shooting.

I have several SPs and for SD I use 125-140 grain Mid Range 357s. Speer Gold Dot Short BBL loads, Remington Golden Sabers and my favorite Buffalo Bore 125 grain Mid level 357 @ 1220fps.