Ruger Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6,617 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, first off as some of you may already know I'm brand new to auto-loaders, shot S/A and D/A revolvers all my life. I wanted a change so I decided to get into the auto-loaders about a year ago, just received my SR1911 last week. So be easy on me if my questions seem DUMB...:eek:

Today I did the "pre-range day" preparation steps with my new SR1911, (going to the range this Saturday on our "First Date".)
...I learned to dis-assemble & re-assemble the gun via YouTube instructional videos, got it down pat, no issues there.
...cleaned and lubed the gun, (used Birchwood Casey RIG+P stainless steel lube on the slide and frame rails)
...reviewed the OM again, just to be sure I didn't overlook anything
...watched several Ruger and other training / instructional videos, on loading, unloading, (get some real time "hands on" at the range), clearing and correcting FTF's & FTE's.

I think I did everything I needed to do but I need your help, (again), with two questions...:eek:

1) I know Ruger held some very tight machining tolerances during the manufacturing process but the slide feels very tight to the frame, it's somewhat difficult to rack the slide without some exertion. I am assuming this is due to newness of the gun and after putting "some" rounds down range this will loosen up in time...is that correct?

2) today during my practice dis-assembles and re-assembles I noticed that when the gun has been put back together and when I racked the slide back and held it locked in that position there is some play in the end of the barrel, I could actually wiggle it a bit...is this normal for 1911's?

Can you help me out with question 1 and 2?

Thanks so much!

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,898 Posts