Ruger Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3,855 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I picked up an SR40c last July, and I really like it. It is accurate and very reliable, i.e. it feeds very consistently and plain old just works. Also, I am particularly enamored with the fit and finish on the SR40c and the balance and feel of the weapon.

I have not been shooting it much since August for various reasons but I intend to rectify this. I am about to start a practice regime with the SR40c. My question is a simple one. Is the SR40c design robust enough for this to be a range gun? In other words, is the SR40c a gun like my 45s (1911 style) which can be fired for 10,000-20,000 round before any parts need replacing? How rugged is this design? I am new to polymer guns.

Thanks for any opinions and experiences.

·
Registered
351 Posts
I have only put about 300 trouble free rounds through my SR40. But many others on this forum talk about many thousands of trouble free rounds.

One fellow even bragged about 7,000 rounds without cleaning. I don't recommend this.

When you say "range gun", do you mean range only use? The reason I ask is most folks would consider the SR9c better suited as a "range gun" due mainly to the lower cost of 9mm ammunition.

I bought my SR 40 primarily as a home/self defense weapon, thus the S&W 40 ammunition. I pay the extra cost at the range to get the extra power for SD.

If I were to buy a gun to use only at the range, it would be 9 mm or even .22 caliber.

·
Reloading Addict
10,714 Posts
I picked up an SR40c last July, and I really like it. It is accurate and very reliable, i.e. it feeds very consistently and plain old just works. Also, I am particularly enamored with the fit and finish on the SR40c and the balance and feel of the weapon.