Ruger Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just recently obtained a sr45 and i was out shooting it today, It fired just fine until ran into some trouble. I loaded a full magazine and was shot 2 rounds, and dropped the magazine out because I was going to try and clear it and pack it up to go home the problem is i couldnt rack the slide back to clear it and no luck, the safety was off so i pulled trigger to fire the round it but no luck.

So now the round is stuck in the chamber, chamber indicator is up, and the striking pin is forward. The slide only comes back bout a quarter of an inch I believe and thats it. Any suggestions? My buddy suggested clamping the slide and smacking back of grip with a mallet with the muzzle in a safe direction.

·
Registered
49 Posts
I'm no expert, but it sounds like the ejector is in the take down position, look up the mag well to see if it is.

·
Registered
368 Posts
I'm no expert, but it sounds like the ejector is in the take down position, look up the mag well to see if it is.
I tried mine with the ejector down and the slide will still move back out of battery.

Could the slide stop be bent? You should be able to see what is going on if you look up the mag well with a flashlight.

·
Registered
59 Posts
You pulled the trigger without a mag in it and the mag safety stopped the striker. You might have a cartridge that is to long and stuck in the rifling.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
It did have an issue earlier of the slider returning home when you tap a magazine in, could that be related? The magazine was loaded and the slide stop was engaged, and the magazine would send it home with a fresh round chambered.

·
Registered
38 Posts