Ruger Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so this is my first and only rifle, I'm new to the game. The book and Ruger says no copper brushes down the barrel. What do you do to clean your sr556?

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
17,034 Posts
marxman, First of all, you posted this thread in the wrong forum. It should be in the Maintenance Forum .... not the Semi-Auto forum. As soon as I finish this post, I will move it for you.

The next issue is ... no where in the Ruger instruction manual does it say NOT to use a copper brush. Fact is, bore brushes aren't copper anyway .... they are bronze. The cleaning instructions say to use a bore brush wetted with solvent.

·
Registered
5,282 Posts
marxman, First of all, you posted this thread in the wrong forum. It should be in the Maintenance Forum .... not the Semi-Auto forum. As soon as I finish this post, I will move it for you.

The next issue is ... no where in the Ruger instruction manual does it say NOT to use a copper brush. Fact is, bore brushes aren't copper anyway .... they are bronze. The cleaning instructions say to use a bore brush wetted with solvent.
As the great Jack Benny used to say, "well....."

I think that pretty much covers this issue. Thanks, Iowegan.

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I remember the video on ruger ,the guy was saying only use a bore brush if necessary. I just don't want to damage anything

·
17,034 Posts
marxman,
,the guy was saying only use a bore brush if necessary