Ruger Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I'm trying to determine if the Ruger Bisley Blackhawk Convertible 45LC/45ACP (Model # KRBN455WX) uses an aluminum frame, or a stainless steel frame?

This model does not appear to be in current production, but I do see new ones come up for sale from time to time. I think it was a distributor exclusive.

Now for a more general question.... I'm new to single action revolvers, and know that I want a Ruger. One of my requirements though is that I want an all steel gun, no aluminum. Does this leave me with only the Super Blackhawk? From what I have read, most of the regular "New" model Blackhawks use an aluminum frame?

Thanks!!

James

·
Registered
3,560 Posts
A little clarification please:

OP: are you asking about the GRIP frame or The Frame (with the S/N on it?)

Ruger Grip frames are traditionally aluminum. Brass was used/offered sometime ago and are just about impossible to find for sale.

Their frames are either blued mild steel or SS. They've never been chromed that I know of. Nick has never been used as far as I know either. It can been difficult to tell for sure sometimes because they offer such a perfect polish on their SS frames.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Spike12,
I'm talking about the GRIP frames, not the serial numbered frame itself.

I know the Super Blackhawk revolvers come with STEEL grip frames, but I've been told most of Rugers other single action revolvers use an aluminum grip frame.

TMB (poster above you) mentioned that he thinks all Bisley grip frames are either steel or stainless steel, not aluminum. Interesting..

James

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
16,413 Posts