Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
9,148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Haven't hand loaded since the 80's. Been collecting my brass for a year and a half with no thought of reloading. Till I realized that I had filled 4 Plano ammo cans. The thought of the $$ I spent on ammo changed my mind fast.

Expecting a large box from Midway. Ordered a Lee Classic 4 hole Turret Press Deluxe kit. So expect a lot of questions. Would appreciate input from anyone with the same Lee Press. Good choice?

·
Registered
370 Posts
Great choice. You'll love it. Be sure and order extra turrets. The Lee round die storage boxes are a great way of storing your turrets of various calibers.

·
Righteous Dude
21,694 Posts
I'm just starting out (this year). I ordered the Lee turret press... so far, so good. Right now I'm using it as a single stage press. I will eventually load using the turret's progression.

I like it. It has allowed me to learn and will allow me to load faster as I become comfortable.

·
Registered
420 Posts
To start, think safety first. Focus on what you are doing, take your time, and follow the reloading manuals. Reload small batches (100 or less) and have fun.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Good choice. I really like mine. Make sure the Safety Prime is adjusted correctly. It works fine when it is properly adjusted. I put graphite on all the mating surfaces of the Pro Auto Disc for more reliable/consistent powder drops. Some run a few full hopper loads of powder through the Pro Auto Disc to get the same desired effect. Some also wash the hopper in dish detergent before use to circumvent static electricity. Wiping the hopper down with dryer sheets also works. I do it regularly. I go right to the horses mouth (LEE) when I have tech questions.

·
Skeptical of Everything
3,655 Posts
Nam Vet ... welcome back to our obsession.