Ruger Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I walked in my LGS the other day for some primers. I looked in the used case, as always, and there laid an SP101 with 3" barrel. Of course I had to take a look at it. A very nice specimen so got the box out and test date was Oct 2009. I checked it over but just couldn't justify it so left with my primers. I got home and thought about it for about 10 minutes and that was to long! I grabbed a Taurus 627 and headed back over. 15 minutes after I got there the SP was mine and the LGS had the Taurus! There was nothing wrong with the Taurus as it was a tracker with the ported barrel and seven shot cylinder but it didn't say Ruger. I've had some bad experiences with Taurus CS and since then have made it a point to get rid of all my Taurus revolvers. I only have one left and since it's in 41 it just might be around for a while. I got the SP home and the only thing I found wrong was the previous owner shot 38s exclusively and didn't clean out the extra part of the cylinder and it was a mess. After about 2 hours I had it ready to go and am as happy as I can be. I already have a 3" SP so now I have 2. I changed out the panels and this is the end result. BTY I also got a pound of power and a brick of primers in the trade. With these last two items....it was an even trade!! I think I got the better end of the deal.

:):):)

The panels are Canary wood.

·
Banned
650 Posts
The trackers are popular but you have a better gun. I don't know why people shoot so much 38 ammo in a 357. it's like taking a shower with a raincoat on. The gun will not shoot the same with 38 ammo as with 357 ammo. I paid for a 357 to shoot a 357. If I wanted to shoot a pop gun I have several 9mm's hanging around.

·
Registered
1,806 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·