Ruger Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got a chance to shoot some reloads through a chrono today. It is my first time doing this. My guestion is,would temperature have a noticeable effect on velocity? I shot some 9mm,115g,Berrys plated rn over 4.5 tg through my p89. Primers were cci,oal was 1.145. These were just some rounds I made up to see how they worked in my guy but got a chance to shoot them through a buddies chrono. They were all in the 1100 fps range. Just wondering about if the temp would effect it much. It was about 19 degrees out with about 15 mph winds. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Not worried about making any power factor yet but will be in the future.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Titegroup is fairly temperature stable. Not a real problem. I would be more concerned with plated heads over 1100 FPS. Nearing the upper limit there.

·
Registered
90 Posts
Powders like Titegroup are fine. Some powders are not. I used to shoot BLC-2 in my Model 70 in .222 Rem. Wonderful powder in warm weather, lost a LOT of energy when it got cold. If I were still shooting .222, I'd use a modern powder that's less temperature sensitive, maybe Benchmark or Varget.

·
Registered
490 Posts
Back in the 80's there was talk that Blue Dot would result in higher pressure in extremely cold weather. :(
First of all I never understood why "cold" would cause higher pressure. :confused:
Secondly, I had fired a substantial number of 3 inch 12 gauge reloads with 1 1/2 ounce and 1 7/8 ounce of #4 shot over max loads of Blue Dot in the 70's with no problems. Sometimes we were duck hunting in single digit temperatures sometimes zero or slightly below. :)
This came from gun and hunting magazines, maybe letters from subscribers. :rolleyes:
Apparently that was not true. Anybody ever heard of this?

·
Registered
649 Posts