Ruger Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi There,
I am new to the Ruger Forum but have been on the Colt Forum for many years and I keep finding myself reading the Ruger threads so I figured I'd join. I have several Ruger firearms but as deer season in Ohio approaches I thought I would show everyone my new (old) Ruger 44 Carbine.
I would like to take it deer hunting this year as the laws have changed here and they allow hunters to use of straight wall pistol calibers like the 44 Remington Magnum. There are very few semi auto rifle models that can shoot straight wall cartridges but the Ruger 44 does and seems to do it well.
My carbine was made in 1969. I believe they made the original tubular magazine model from 1961 to 1985 and they made several stock configurations. The one I have below is a "Sporter Model" or sometimes called a "finger groove stock model". They also made a Mannlicher stock type and a more common model that had a barrel band similar to a Ruger 10/22.
I bought the gun in "near new" condition off Gun Broker a few weeks ago. I found a set of vintage all steel Redfield SR scope mounts on Ebay and mounted a modern Leupold VX-3 1.5-5 scope on top of it.
These guns were quite popular with deer hunters in the 1960's through the 1980's.
Ruger re-introduced a "new" rotary magazine 44 Magnum carbine called the Deerfield a few years ago. These were made from 2000 to 2006 and resemble a Mini 14 rifle.
I have already put a few hand loads through this gun with good success using W296 powder and Hornady 240 gr. XTP HP's. The gun seems to cycle well and have decent accuracy. I must confess I have not taken it beyond the 25 yard confines of my local indoor range yet. The gun seems light and easy to manage. I can't wait to try it at longer ranges and some Ohio whitetails.
If anyone would like to comment on this firearm (good and bad) I would love to hear what you have to say about its accuracy and reliability.