Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been reloading 357 Mag for a couple of years and, to be honest, can't count how many times I've reloaded my brass. I probably have several hundred cases that don't appear to have any problems. I usually load lower to mid range mag loads.

Last night, however, I was priming and the primers seemed to be seating very easily with my Lee hand primer BUT I ran out of my usual CCI primers and started using my stash of Remington primers. Could the difference in seating "feel" just be from switching brands, or is my brass finally ready to retire?

·
Banned
1,940 Posts
Nah, just keep shooting them until the necks split or the primers fall out. I've heard about some people using the same 38/357 brass for 30 years.

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nah, just keep shooting them until the necks split or the primers fall out. I've heard about some people using the same 38/357 brass for 30 years.
The primers seem to be seated fine but sure did seat easily.

I actually did take a few cases and light tapped the rims on the table just to see if they would fall out!

·
Registered
3,123 Posts
There is a noticeable difference in CCI versus Winchester small rifle primers. Not huge but noticable. I suspect mostly the result of how stiff the sides of the primers are but could also have something to do with the precise dimensions.

As for brass wearing out l think one thing you may check for is thinning of the wall in the web area near the head. From what I have read this is more of an issue with rifle cartridges pushing max pressures.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
.357/.38 Special brass, loaded to mid range or less, last pretty much forever. If they're not split or deformed, you're fine.

Jeff

·
Registered
1,828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks for the advice. I'll continue to monitor the brass. Hopefully it's just the new primers.

·
Reloading Addict
10,714 Posts