Ruger Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking of 255LSW over 6.0gr/1.3cc Lee dipper.The only loads I read about are 5.8 Max. I use the dippers. providing the powder fits in the case I don't see a reason to worry about 6.0 in a Ruger Blackhawk Bisley. I am new at reloading and the Trail Boss looks good to me.
Thanks
Keith

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Is that 5.8 max from a reliable source in a book? Or someones notes off the net? It makes a difference.
Don't know a thing about trail boss powder. I like the dippers also but i don't use them for a max load unless i can verify the charge on scales. Do you have the complete set of dippers? What pressures does the 5.8 load generate?
I think there are too many possible variables to affect pressure when you go red line and are working with just dippers and no scale.
I guess i just play it safe by staying with the book but by staying with the book i havn't got into trouble.
And i get to start all over when i buy another pound of the same powder but it is from a different lot#.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Deputy125
I think I'll be fine as long as it fits in case and I think it will. I am going to buy some Sat and load them up. This stuff is suposed to be a case filling low pressure powder for lead. I am looking for something that would be very hard to do a double load with and this stuff should be it. I think the 5.8 is the load safe for Colt strength revolbers. The RB45 won't be stressed.
Thanks
Keith

·
Registered
3,156 Posts
Be sure to give us a shooting report. i am going to read up on trail boss a bit and get educated.

·
Registered
197 Posts