Ruger Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,241 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In trying to refine my rifle shooting technique I have started to pause my breathing as opposed to holding my breath. What technique do you use and why?
I have a WWII training video that teaches holding the breath, but I like pausing my breath as I am not as tense during the actually squeeze. I am by no means an expert yet I would like to refine my technique. Any information regarding others experiences would be helpful and appreciated, thanking those that respond in advance.
peace.

·
Registered
2,439 Posts
Don't know about anybody else, but I breath normally and when ready to squeeze the trigger, let the last inhale out probably 2/3 and pause. Tends to relax the chest and arms allowing a shot without tensing up. Works for me.

·
Registered
155 Posts
I shoot a rifle the same way jimbo1096 does and have found a good many other people shoot the same way. The muscles utilized need "some" degree of relaxation (not too much) and it works well for me. I advocate and teach this way to others...............Dick

·
Code Slinger
2,202 Posts
In your breathing cycle, you have a natural ~2 second pause when you completed the exhale process. At this time I start to put pressure on the trigger. If the rifle doesn't fire when I naturally start to inhale, I hold the pressure and wait for the next natural pause, then start applying pressure again.

Holding your breath is a bad idea, as this starts to slowly deplete your body of oxygen, and your natural response is to start breathing heavier.

·
Registered
758 Posts
I never did a lot of serious shooting when I was a kid, so when I learned, I learned from the same people that taught Lee Harvey Oswald.

The method taught by the Marine Corps in the early 60s was the BASS method.

B = Breathe. Take a deep breath, let half of it out and hold it
A = Aim. Line up your sights
S = Slack. Take up the slack in the trigger. (Creep)