Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
221 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ones opinion of the ultimate GP100 is subjective, but here's mine. When I was a young police officer in the 70s we still carried revolvers, mostly Colts or S&Ws. The early Rugers were considered utilitarian (cheap revolvers). Over the years Ruger developed the design culminating in the excellent GP100 which everyone considers to be right up there with Colt or S&W. I recently bought a Match Champion with adjustable sights and after shooting it I thought this is one of Rugers best revolvers, and I still think so. Then I stumbled upon what I now consider the ultimate GP100, the 3" Wiley Clapp version. The Match Champion has a really good double action but this new WC is even better. The 3" barrel balances perfectly and will be a great carry gun. Anyone considering a GP100 would do well to look at both these versions. I'm happy I own both but if it came to to choosing one it would be the Wiley Clapp.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,142 Posts
I hear ya. Too shiny though. Shoulda got the blue one. Or send it to Waveform for some cerakote. :p

Just kidding. Nice pair.

·
Registered
109 Posts
I have a 6" blue GP100. It is wonderful to shoot. Nice and heavy.
My 4-inch GP stainless isn't near as nice (yet). Front sights that are easy and quick to change and internal parts easily to service make this gun my favorite.
I want another half-dozen please.

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
Those GPs are certainly nice and I am glad that you found your "ultimate" GPs. I suppose that "ultimate" means different things to each of us. My ultimate GP was the Royal Phoenix that I was finally able to acquire. (I love high polish blue guns) That GP will follow me to my grave. :)

·
Registered
1,262 Posts
Nice pair of GPs. You sir have excellent taste.

That Match Champion looks great with those Lett style grips.

·
Ruger Tinkerer
11,898 Posts