Ruger Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Single Action and want to buy a Vaquero. What am I looking for "new model" or "old model"? Why one over the other?

·
Registered
239 Posts
Depends .. The old model had a longer cylinder and was beefier so you could load longer and heavier bullets ..

New model is more like a Colt SAA in size and balance at least to me it is ..
I dont have a new model but its on the list to get i do have the old style

·
Retired Moderator & Gunsmith
16,480 Posts
simulatedjim, Even though we know what you mean .... and just to avoid confusion ... Old Model and New Model relates to the older Ruger SA revolvers that didn't have transfer bars and the new ones that do. All Vaqueros have transfer bars. The "New Vaquero" (marked as such on the cylinder frame) is the current production model and as Bud White stated, they have a lighter frame and cylinder than the heavy frame models.

If you buy a 357 Mag, it really doesn't make much difference. Both will shoot the same loads. However, if you get the 45 Colt version .... big difference. I own a couple heavy frame 45 LC Vaqueros and really like them. I'd gladly put up with a little extra weight in order to safely be able to shoot much more powerful loads.

Here's my Heavy Frame Vaquero Convertible 45 LC/45 ACP.

Here's another Heavy frame 45 LC

·
Registered
62 Posts
i have a new model and enjoy it very much a few advantages are that the ugly afety message has been moved to the bottom of the barrell so that it is not in plain sight like it is on the old ones , you can buy them new when i was looking for mine i couldnt find any thing used.

·
Registered
2,428 Posts
You can also get the original Vaquero in 44 magnum. The new style only comes in 357 or 45 colt. I have an OM in 357 and love it. The grip frame fits me better and it shoots like a dream.

·
Registered
211 Posts