Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The resident expert chimes in and gets part of it. So, which is it, .45 or .44 mag?

Jman8182

·
Forum Founder
3,639 Posts
Serial # was 1996, but they made both .44mag and .45 long Colts with same series of serial numbers. First time in my life that I've ever been wrong. :)

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Here's the gun in the box.

Since no one else is playing, I was testing everyone's knowledge of the catalog numbers.
I'm just learning this stuff. The BNV makes it a case hardened Vaquero. The 455 makes it a .45LC with 5" barrel. I think, the IE makes it engraved with gold fill. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

Jman8182

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Those grips are not factory. I added them to try to bring out the gold on the cylinder. It came with the poly ivory grips.

Jman8182

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
quote:Originally posted by KP97DC

A Beautiful Gun. :) There are some of the Codes in this Thread. http://www.rugerforum.net/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=369
It looks like those codes are for the bottom feeders. The only bottom feeders I own right now are .22's. I'm thinking about a .40SW with a accessory rail.

Jman8182

·
Registered
681 Posts
Having been in the "box" business for over 25 years now, yes, you will see and come across "errors" from the 'printer' and even wrong models in other boxes.Same goes for the early two piece boxes. Ruger, like all the other gun companies did not waste or throw away much, so would just put another "printed" label to cover the gun, in that box.
As for it being "case hardened", they are NOT, they "case colored" and Ruger uses a chemical coating, so it would be "BCC" blue, color case.......

Nice grips by the way. Are those Carys' work by chance??

·
Registered
2,896 Posts
well learned something today thanks.

·
Registered
2,435 Posts