Ruger Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an SR556 Takedown and I bought a red dot, rail light, and Troy pro sling adapter. I was just wondering if you would use loctite on any of them? If I do, would I then not be able to move them around?
Thank gang. Every question I've asked on this forum has been answered with great care! I'm new to the gun world, but the media has lead me to believe gun owners were ravenous killers who were just waiting for the opportunity to wreak mayhem on society. They must be talking about the Glock forum? Haha

·
Registered
7,096 Posts
Nice purchase! I would mount everything, torque it properly & see if it loosens.
If you use it, I would go with the blue removable kind.

The red is very hard to get loose & usually requires heat.

·
Registered
Hirschjäger
822 Posts
I have an SR556 Takedown and I bought a red dot, rail light, and Troy pro sling adapter. I was just wondering if you would use loctite on any of them? If I do, would I then not be able to move them around?
Thank gang. Every question I've asked on this forum has been answered with great care! I'm new to the gun world, but the media has lead me to believe gun owners were ravenous killers who were just waiting for the opportunity to wreak mayhem on society. They must be talking about the Glock forum? Haha
You have to have 25 posts to get to the forums where we talk about shooting babies and kicking puppies around...:D

Definitely use the blue Loc-Tite on them. I've removed some of the stuff I've attached using blue Loc-Tite and it's not so tough.

I've heard the red is a bear to break loose, though. I'd say not to try it.

Welcome.

Aqualung

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
good advice, I vote either the blue or snitch a little of the old lady's clear nail polish. that will make a removable loc tite.

·
Registered
2,919 Posts