Ruger Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3,708 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For handgun I like Hogdgon/Winchester and Alliant. For Rifle it seems I gravitate to Sierra and Accurate/Ramshot. So what do the masses use?
I load .38/.357(handgun and rifle), .40S&W, .45AP and .223/5.56.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I'm fairly new to reloading. I've been loading for .45acp, 9mm, 38/357 and .30-.30.

I've been using the Speer 14 and Lyman 49.

·
Registered
749 Posts
I have several manuals, but I tend to load more from Hornady since their loads are a bit lighter which I prefer. When I load Oregon Trails bullets, I use their data.

·
Registered
103 Posts
Depends on the projectile.

If I'm loading lead, I use the Lee Modern Reloading 2nd Edition Revised or Lyman manual. For jacketed projectiles, I use the reloading manual that the bullet manufacturer puts out.

·
Registered
3,708 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I have many different manuals but I only use data from professional sources. I don't use data from "just Joe" on the Internet.
Very, very wise.

·
Registered
99 Posts
I have several manuals but they are all the newest editions. I wish I had some of the older manuals. I really like Lyman, Lee seems to get their data from the powder manufacturers, Hornady does load light as was said, Hodgdon is kinda limited. I only use Hodgdon powders, so far and other than one box of Speer and one box of Midway Dogtown everything else I have (also so far) are Hornady Bullets. I load for 45colt, 30-30, 308, 5.56/.223, 45acp and whatever my Dad asks me to load for him this week which could be about anything other than 50bmg. LOL. I use them for guides then test for myself with my Chronograph and I look for signs of overpressure and test for accuracy at distance. :)

·
Registered
5,667 Posts